Testimonials

Check out some of the many lovely things past brides and their families have said about our beautiful venue and amazing staff. Still not convinced? Check out our 5 star rating on The Knot, our 4.9 star rating on the Wedding Wire and our 4.9 star rating on our Facebook Page!

Wow! Where to start! The venue is absolutely beautiful. So green and lush. Great layout and beautiful arbor. Brittany was amazing to work with. We were blessed with rain on my daughter’s wedding day. Brittany did not miss a beat. The reception area is beautiful and our guest enjoyed being able to sit and watch everyone dance.
Thank you Thompson House for making Megan and Efa’s day so very, very special!

– Dorie Willingham Douthit
June 2017


Thompson House & Gardens is absolutely amazing! I love that the venue includes all the decor, set up & clean up & they have a list of vendors they work closely with and recommend. Brittany Guest is an amazing person and does an awesome job at helping you plan your perfect day! My husband planned a surprise wedding for me all with the help of Brittany and the fabulous vendors that work closely with Thompson House. If a man can plan a wedding alone, you definitely know you’re working with the right people.

-Stephanie Ibarra
June 2017


This venue was perfect for our reception. The location was perfect and very close to our house. Brittany was wonderful to work with! It was definitely worth it to pay more to have everything taken care of for us. The floral arrangements were brilliant and gorgeous! I couldn’t have asked for a better venue! It was set up beautifully!

– Paige S.
March 2017


“We had our wedding reception here and it could not have been more perfect. Brittany (wedding coordinator) made everything so easy for us and was so quick to respond to all of my emails. She set up the venue so beautifully for us and cleaned everything up at the end. All we had to do was take home anything that was ours. The flowers by On were flawless. Could not have asked for more beautiful flowers. I highly recommend this venue for the perfect wedding. You will be so happy you did!!”

-Kacy McMillian
January 2017


“I would like to thank Thompson House for making my day the best it could have possibly been. First off, my wedding was put together in a matter of 60 days from the time that I found them. Brittany and Jessica were great to work with and were able to capture my vision for my wedding effortlessly. They truly went above and beyond to make my day exactly as I imagined. They even suggested a bartender who did an excellent job too!

I as so worried it would rain on my day and unfortunately it did. They gave me until almost the very last minute to make my decision to move the ceremony indoors. It actually turned out beautifully anyway. They quickly flipped the room for my ceremony and no one would have known it was supposed to be any different. I am so happy I found this gem of a venue! My family and friends are still commenting on how perfect my wedding turned out and how beautiful everything was.”

-Mojica-Whitaker
April 2016


“We got married on May 2015. We had an Indian Fusion wedding with around 250 guests. It was absolutely amazing venue with such great character. This venue has many areas to take great photos. Our coordinator Sheila was very helpful and got everything lined up for our big day. This was their first Indian wedding and Sheila did everything to learn the customs and meanings of everything. She listened to what I wanted and made it come through. The flowers were by the venue also, Flowers by On, and Sheila did a great job creating bouquets and the flower decor. Everything turned out beautiful and my family was so happy.”

-Rajal
2015


“My husband and I got married at the Thompson House and Gardens (THG) in Nov 2015. We looked at almost every possible venue in the Atlanta / Athens area online, and then narrowed the list down to 3 venues to visit in person. THG was the first place we saw, and while walking out my (now) husband said to me, “Do we really need to look at any other venue?” THG was exactly what we were looking for — instead of having our wedding guests restricted to one room which is the case at many other venues, we wanted our guests to be able to walk around the whole venue, sit and chat in one of the smaller rooms of the house, and go outside. There are string lights out back that are very pretty, and we also had our string quartet play during the cocktail hour while our guests talked, enjoyed drinks and hors d’oeuvres, and played giant jenga and croquet. I wish I could have been a guest at this wedding! We did not have a wedding planner, but we did ask Sheila to be our day-of wedding coordinator. Sheila does this for an extra price, and it is totally worth it. I wouldn’t call myself a bridezilla, but I did have a lot of questions about the planning of the wedding, so I emailed her often (sorry, Sheila). She would always get back to me within a couple of days, answering all of my questions. We talked on the phone several times, and met in person two or three times prior to the wedding. During the wedding, many of my guests commented that every detail was perfect, and we really have to give Sheila credit for that. Prior to the wedding we discussed how we wanted the house to be set up, and she took care of it. I also have to mention how beautiful the flowers were that Sheila arranged for the wedding. The table flowers and bouquets were beautiful, and she also made corsages for my aunts (she normally makes corsages / boutonnieres for the grandparents, but I did not have any attending the wedding). I dried out my bouquet and plan to keep it. My husband made the remark after the wedding that we were really lucky to have Sheila there to help with the planning and coordinating of the wedding. Sheila decorated the house the way we asked her to, she reminded us of all of the little details that we may have otherwise forgotten (such as getting our marriage license!), she ordered and arranged all of the beautiful flowers, she contacted the vendors (DJ, photographer, etc) to make sure there were no problems, she directed the bridesmaids and family down the aisle during the actual wedding, she made sure the banquet hall was set up appropriately as we had discussed, she let me know when any of the vendors needed to be paid before leaving (such as the string quartet, who only stayed until the end of the cocktail hour), and she put my items in the get-away car at the end of the night. She also kept everything on schedule and let me know when it was time for the toasts, cake cutting, bouquet toss, etc. Thanks so much, Sheila! Added bonus for THG: Some of the venues in Atlanta don’t have parking available, so your guests have to find street parking. At THG, there is a large parking lot, so you don’t have to worry about that. Downside to THG: The only downside that comes to mind is that the venue is somewhat close to the street, and I was worried that we would hear cars going by. However, it is not a busy street, especially on the weekend, and our wedding guests were mostly in the backyard or in the house anyway, so it wasn’t a problem.”

-Blaire Long-Nomurm
2015


Love, love, loved everything about the Thompson house and gardens! The venue was beautiful. I had planed on an outside wedding but bc of the weather we ended up doing it inside which was just as beautiful. Sheila was very organized and made everything stress free for everyone in the wedding. The flowers were beautiful. All the recommended venders were great! So many great picture opportunities here. I could go on & on! I would highly recommend this venue!! Everything was so great I did not want the night to end. Thank y’all so much!!!

-Misty Schieber
2015


Where to begin….the venue itself was gorgeous, truly top notch!! The team at THG worked tirelessly to make sure our guest wanted for nothing! And to Sheila(our coordinator) … Oh Sheila…. You took every ounce of stress that I would’ve experienced and with the magic wand (I’m still certain you’re hiding somewhere) and made our special day flawless!!! I would highly highly recommend this venue!!

-Renea Casey Britt(Mother of Bride)
2015


I just recently got married at The Thompson House and Gardens and it was nothing short of PERFECT. Sheila did an amazing job as my wedding coordinator. The flowers and arrangements were gorgeous. I have absolutely nothing negative to say. Thumbs up all the way.

-Erin Youngblood
2015


On,
We can’t thank you enough for all you did to make Megan and Brett’s wedding day absolutely perfect! We heard compliments from our guests about how beautiful the venue was and how elegant the floral arrangements were.

Gratefully,
Stacie and Bill Smith
July 2012


Dear On,
We wanted to sincerely thank you for all that you did to make our wedding perfect. Everything was absolutely beautiful and we could not have done it without you. Thank you for all your time and effort that you put into our wedding.

-Mary and Derek
July 2011


Hello On,
I wanted to drop you a quick email thanking you for all the hard work you put into Shannon & my’s wedding last weekend! You are truly a SPECTACULAR and gifted person! I know I was a bit “fussy” at times but it was only because of nervousness & fear that the things I wanted wouldn’t come together… You saw my fear and really took the time to reassure me & make sure those small details we wanted all came together. You bent over backwards working to meet the needs of myself & my wedding planner even though we may not have always made it easy for you…

It takes a very special person to do what you do, day in and day out. Dealing with so many different personalities with each wedding you do. Kudos to you for always keeping a positive attitude no matter what the situation.

The next bride that gives you grief about flower colors… the next one that won’t listen to you when you’re explaining how the colors will look in pictures… please show them my pics, better yet, give them my number and tell them to call me…I’ll be happy to calm them down and tell my story about how I almost worried myself to death for nothing! You are absolutely awesome… and I love you for making our day so very special for us and our guest!

Best Regards,
Tamika & Shannon Allen


Dear On and Jackie,
How can we thank both of you enough for everything you did to make our wedding the wonderful and incredibly special day that it was! On, the Thompson House and Gardens was the perfect place for us to have our reception and we appreciate so much that you were willing to work with us to make it happen. The flowers and decorations were so beautiful! I loved my bouquet and I can’t stop looking at the pictures of the center pieces and the flowers at the church. Our guests loved everything too and we got so many complements on the THG.. Jackie, you were awesome! I don’t know how you were able to be everywhere at once, but somehow you did it. We never worried about a thing and everything and went so smoothly. Our parents told us how you even got in the back of their truck and packed all our wedding gifts so they wouldn’t have to. We and our families enjoyed meeting and working with both of you so much. We will always treasure the memories of our wedding day and both of you played such a big role in making those memories happen. We will highly recommend the Thompson House and Gardens to anyone looking for a beautiful place to have their wedding or reception where they know they will be in kind and competent hands.

Thanks again for everything!
-Lauren and Manuel Garcia


On, Thanks to you and your staff for making Morgan and Cody’s wedding the best day it could possibly be. Once we arrived, even with the flowers that Morgan’s mother-in-law contributed, you and your staff made us feel so at ease that everything would go smoothly. I’ve already had two people inquire about your facility. Thanks again for a magical day!

– Melissa Correll
May 2011

Untitled design-14